SHARON AND OZZY OSBOURNE HAVE A SUICIDE PACT

It was reported that, Ozzy Osbourne has agreed to a suicide pact with wife, Sharon – because she doesn’t want to go through the pain her father Don Arden did when he suffered from Alzheimers.

The America’s Got Talent judge, 54, claims she and rocker Ozzy, 59, made the mutual decision earlier this year after music mogul Arden lost his struggle with the neurodegenerative disease and died in July aged 81.

She says, “We believe 100 per cent in euthanasia, so have drawn up plans to go to the assisted suicide flat in Switzerland if we ever have an illness that affects our brains. If Ozzy or I ever got Alzheimer’s, that’s it – we’d be off. We gathered the kids around the kitchen table, told them our wishes and they’ve all agreed to go with it. There’s no way I could go through what (my father) did, or put my kids through that.

“My father deteriorated at such a rapid speed he became a shell of himself. Some say the disease is hereditary so at the first sign I want to be put out of my misery.”

And Sharon believes their decision will spare their kids Aimee, 24, Kelly, 22, and 21-year-old Jack the burden of the illness.

She adds, “It’s taken away some of the fear of our ending and is a final gift of love to our kids.”

This story has taken heat from the press this week.

~~~~~~~

Time to voice my opinion:

Firstly, I think the public should keep their opinions to themselves concerning the Osbourne’s decision.  We did not walk in their shoes with regards to Ms. Osbourne’s father’s illness; furthermore who are we to judge in their choice.

It seemed not too many years ago, I had a suicide pact with myself.  Depression was at its blackest, absolutely nothing was working, no progress nor optimism for the future.

I sat each day in my dimly lit hospital room, waiting patiently for my pdoc to visit, to bring ‘good’ news with new ‘healing tablets’, and declare there was a cure.  Pdoc never showed nor did the ‘tablets’ nor did the cure. 

The time had come.  Patience (comparing to a piece of gingham cloth); wore too thin.  I was ready.  I wasn’t frightened, and felt that I let my spouse and family down enough, so my decision was the right decision.  I did not leave a note.

I won’t go into the entire details.  Obviously it didn’t work.  At the time I was pissed off – more that you can imagine.  Envision being a failure at your own suicide?  But I am a survivor.

That was quite a few years ago, and time has passed.  I have had to work hard for everything I have right now; the road has been bumpy.  I am content to be alive now, however, due to this illness, the challenge is with me every day.  But I would NEVER condemn ANYONE who has been in this suicide situation.  Depression is an illness – why would you have such disdain?

So, back to the Osbournes….. this is their choice.

3 thoughts on “SHARON AND OZZY OSBOURNE HAVE A SUICIDE PACT

  1. Thank you for sharing, it takes guts to open up. In the real world, in my opinion, I think sometimes people grow tired of the mental illness woes. They don’t want to hear about suicide; they are frightened, and really can you blame them. But they have to see it from our side; losing almost everything, family, friends, job……depression everyday, pain, what’s a person to do.

    Suicide is definately NOT the answer, and yes, it does get better. I am that example. The right pdoc/med combo for me was the key. Keep up the spirits, and keep in touch via this blog or write me at my e-mail:
    cherished-thoughts@hotmail.com

    Take care.

  2. i often think about ending my life because i am so fed up of having a nervous disorder and how it affects me and my life.
    but i don’t want to do it because it would not be right, plus it is a cruel unfair challenge (well thats my view of these things)
    …..and although i often lack self belief and confidence, I’m not going to let this problem drive me to end my life.
    about 12 years ago i took a load of tablets but I’m still here.
    i just want to feel happy to alive and grateful for whatever i find that makes me feel satisfied.

Leave a Reply

