EATING DISORDERS: Me and my Scale

I believe I have a love/hate relationship with my scale; sounds bizarre doesn’t it.  I depend on this ridiculous thing in the morning, which allows me to feel wonderful for the day or worthless and a failure.  I’d honestly wish to throw it out the window, yet I can’t, it’s become an addiction to weigh in every morning.  Mind-boggling how an object made of metal with a dial and numbers can take control of your life.

Still struggling with this eating disorder, and I suppose you could say…”You really have an eating disorder when your scale is…..”

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “EATING DISORDERS: Me and my Scale

    • Me, as well, and hubby isn’t concerned yet the scale is in the bathroom in plain sight! I’m obviously the one with the problem.

      Like

  1. I can really relate with this. I’ve been struggling with AN for years and still weigh myself every morning. But I know it’s a symbol of what’s going on in my head. That somehow I’m not “good enough” so it must be my body’s fault and I expect my body to be at a certain number or else I’m a failure. So getting rid of the scale means getting rid of the unrealistic expectations and being able to accept oneself. Not easy though!

    Like

  2. Wow, I can really relate to this. I don’t think I have an eating disorder, I have a healthy BMI and eat an average of 2000 calories a day, but I am very OCD about my work-outs, tracking every bite I eat, and that dang scale. I weigh myself daily, sometimes twice a day, and 3 lbs can make a difference in whether I feel slim and confident or totally blah for the day. How silly, right? I have considered throwing the scale away, just can’t get myself to do it.

    Like

    • I’m struggling with this eating disorder right now, and when I was a fatty I never used to worry about the scale. I only found out my weight number when I went to the doctor’s office (# always bad news), but not obsessed as I am now. Can’t get away from this habit, one day this scale has to go!

      Like

Leave a Reply

