PTSD – Why Are We Keeping Secrets?

8109OYGAJB

I’ve written many posts about my PTSD (childhood sexual abuse), a ‘dirty little secret.’ Have you ever held on to secrets for years and years?

Also, who are we protecting? The abuser? Our parents or caretakers who were supposed to be caring for us? Why were we supposed to be the ones to “keep the secret”? We did nothing wrong. It seems so unfair and convoluted, doesn’t it?

As I recollect my past, at around five or six years old, as my friends and I freely played in our front yard, the evil predator would either sit next door on his veranda, relaxing, puffing on his cigar, or in the driveway repairing whatever was under the hood of his old car.

I felt panicked for both my friends and me, wanting so badly to warn them of this sexual deviant and express to them of the sexual abuse at the hands of this man, yet felt compelled to “keep the secret.” I had a secret; an ugly little secret to something that I didn’t cause–or did I?

There was the distressing apology forced by my parents to blurt out and recite with sincerity to this predator for abusing me. While apologizing to this revolting man, it bewildered me, wondering how I had wronged him. All kinds of feelings swished around: hate, helplessness, and frankly, it humiliated me. My parents warned me never to tell anyone about this.

A 30-year-old man is forcing sex on a child. Would that warrant an apology?

Perplexing and head-scratching also were permitting this predator into our home for Sunday dinners. What were my parents thinking? Were they attempting to soothe the predator’s feelings for being “wrongly” accused or attempting to “keep the peace” between neighbors? In hindsight, I suppose so.

Seated directly across from him, as he eagerly gulped down his Sunday meal, my stomach would turn into knots. I felt like spitting out the food and vomiting or screeching my brains, but I was a well-mannered little girl sitting wordlessly.

That was the obstacle. I was a noble little girl and kept this ‘dirty little secret,’ not uttering a word to anyone. Who was I protecting?

Although the memories dwindled, I kept the “secret” throughout my high school years and into my adult years. But some signs affected my life with inexplicable suicidal thoughts, bouts of depression, and feeling worthless with low self-esteem and self-confidence. I continually felt guilty, dirty, shameful, and filled with self-blame.

Years passed by, then unexpected flashbacks started with triggers. I enlisted therapy (from an inexperienced therapist) and began the descent into hell.

This started the ball rolling on a new life; a black, muddy life spent the better part in hospitals, including suicide attempts, ECTs, and various medications. 

Qfunkysupport4-25imagesccc

2022

We who have kept the secrets hopefully find therapy to conquer the demons that dealt us with a crappy set of cards.

It’s been a long healing journey, and with an Experienced Trauma Therapist, I could deal with sexual abuse. If you can talk about your abuse without falling apart or bursting into tears, then you have healed enough in your journey to at least function. I consider myself a survivor, yet I still have moments of triggers, but less often.

This journey was a long road, almost 20+ years for me. Upon discovering the catalyst of my suicidal ideation and preoccupation with dying, depression, and worthless feelings, I found that my narcissistic mother primarily instigated them.

I questioned which abuse was worse; the emotional abuse from my mother or the sexual abuse.

We are all Warriors and survivors!

Rewritten and copyrighted by Deb McCarthy (July/2022)

Published by

cherished79

I am a Mental Health Advocate for mental illness Stigma. In 2007, I created the "Living in Stigma" blog with the purpose and anticipation of educating people about mental illness. Depression is part of this illness, which intertwines with those struggling with PTSD, chronic pain, and other invisible illnesses. I am a chronic migraine sufferer and a survivor of sexual and emotional abuse. My passions are writing, poetry, and art. All abuse Survivors are also Warriors.

11 thoughts on “PTSD – Why Are We Keeping Secrets?”

  1. So sorry you had to go through this. So unfair of your parents to hide it and force you to hide it.

    I conviently “forgot” about mine with a Grandfather I adored, told no one about it at the time. My aunt discovered it and called my beloved Grandfather and me “disgusting”! Then about a decade or more later, a friend spoke her horrible abuse and all the memories came back. It was a mild form of sexual abuse but it was with someone I adored. To this day, seeing old men who vaguely look like him I get repulsed. I don’t have PTSD but it messed with my mind about men and sex and all. When, I finally told my parents it was as an adult, and Grandpa was dead. I still adore him. He saved my childhood in other ways.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry; I somehow missed your comment. It often happens when another family member finds out about abuse within the family; they don’t want to believe this could happen. Who is it easier to blame, the child, of course? To me, there is no “mild sexual abuse.” I am the same with flashbacks. Since the predator next door worked in the auto industry, his hands were always dirty with black fingernails. Even today, if I see a man with dirty nails, I instantly end up at 5 years old, reliving the abuse.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Maybe you are right. There is no “mild sexual abuse” because of the effect it has. In my case, it was from my beloved Grandpa who was otherwise sort of a savior in my childhood. I regret to say this. I know what you mean, you go back to 5 years old. It is almost impossible not to react this way. So sorry for whatever you went through. I didn’t mean to excuse sexual abuse in any way by saying I still loved my grandfather.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Thank you!! I am sorry this comment is so late. I have had a hard time of late. All is hit or miss. How about you? Have been thinking of you and haven’t seen any blog posts. Are you okay?

            Like

            1. I am in the hospital again for the 3rd time this summer. I came in on August 11 and my psychiatrist went on holidays for 2 weeks and is back on Tuesday. I seem to go home and ok for a week or two, then I slide into this depressive black hole, and can’t dig myself out. I think the biggest problem is I isolate myself from people and don’t have the energy to bother doing anything. As soon as I get home I’ll be on my blog again. The hospital wants me to help with teaching blogging, but don’t quite know if I’m capable. I miss our comments back and forth. Hope to be writing soon again.
              💜

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry for your suffering

    Childhood abuse lives on forever

    Mine did not have sexual abuse, mine was physical and psychological from a violent young narcissist.

    I can stay present when triggers arrive and I guess function.

    But enjoying life, or having peace of mind is absent

    It is a battle

    Never giving up is essential

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am so sorry! It has been a hard summer for me, too. Blogging is all I do apart from buying food, some cleaning and emailing people. I went to a very bad place. I hope you will get better and try to make yourself blog. Or something you like a bit. Will pray for you. ❣️

    Like

    1. I’m sorry to hear you are in a similar situation. Writing (and art) have always been my passion, and I hate nothing more than to lose those things you love, even for a little while. But, I’ll be back soon. It’s amazing the people who are in the same situation. Thanks for keeping in touch.

      Liked by 1 person

Your comment is important to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.